Culinary Therapy: Mind-Blowing Spinach & Artichoke Dip

My poor little blog. I have neglected you for days. I suppose I have good reason, so here is a quick summary of what I have been busy with.

After my first one night stand (see previous post), I was a little…. shall we say, over excited? I met a different guy on Monday night and ended up staying with him until I had to go to work in the morning. Without going into too much detail, I’ll give you a number: 9 times. Holy shit. I didn’t know it was possible, but holy shit. That’s stamina.

That morning, I called my ex husband. He called and texted approximately 1,000 times the previous night, but I was too busy with all of the rampant sex to answer. Turns out the important news he had for me was that he got one of my bills in the mail – clearly good reason to blow up my phone all night. He must be trying to ruin my game completely. Bastard.

So anyway, after that exciting week, I came back to Austin determined to detox and be less of a slut. Mission… semi-accomplished? After completely DESTROYING the spinach & artichoke dip I am about to show you with my awesome prowling buddy, I went out on the town. I met a boy who I actually really like. I stayed over at his place last night, but drunk me was determined to be less of a skank. It must have been very attractive when I yelled “WE ARE NOT HAVING SEX IF I COME OVER” at him repeatedly. Sometimes I wonder how I get any action at all.

Anyway, back to the food. Food is clearly the priority here. Sex is good, but food is so fucking good. This is my absolute favorite appetizer. Now I don’t like to brag (or maybe I do), but this is the best spinach & artichoke dip of all time. For real. I ate half of the entire recipe last night, but calories don’t count when you cancel them out with alcohol. Obviously.

Anyway, here is the recipe with some photos of the deliciousness itself:

Mind-Blowing Spinach & Artichoke Dip

Ingredients:

1 pack frozen spinach
1 can artichoke hearts, drained, rinsed, & chopped
1 six-oz container greek yogurt (you can replace this with all mayo if you want to get fat)
2  Tbsp Mayo
1 pack nefuchatel/ reduced fat cream cheese (again, feel free to sub for full fat if you like thunder thighs)
1 can diced green chilis (this is the secret ingredient!)
1/2 c part skim mozzarella cheese
1/2 c parmesan cheese

Instructions:

Preheat oven to 350. Mix together the greek yogurt, mayo, and cream cheese until smooth. Add in all  of the other ingredients (save a little of the parmesan to sprinkle on top) and stir. It should look something like this.

Oh yeah. Mix it up real good. Next, put it all in a baking dish (if you can resist stealing a taste) and sprinkle the remaining parmesan on top, like so.

Bake at 350 for ~30 mins. If you want a beautiful golden-brown crust on top, put it on broil for the last 5 min.

It’s only right to taste some before serving. You wouldn’t want anyone eating something that wasn’t delicious, right? Let’s just make sure…

Oh, yes. Yep. I think we’re good to go. Maybe one more bite to make sure.

Enjoy this recipe. It’s a keeper.

Tagged , , , , , , , , , ,

4 thoughts on “Culinary Therapy: Mind-Blowing Spinach & Artichoke Dip

  1. Terry Watson says:

    I discovered your homepage by coincidence.
    Very interesting posts and well written.
    I will put your site on my blogroll.
    🙂

  2. […] night was the most fun I have had on a Monday since the night of nine times. This one consisted of listening to some of my musician friends play a gig downtown. It was laid […]

  3. […] alluded to this night a long time ago, but never fully explained. Maybe because parts of it were not my finest […]

I <3 Comments. Leave one. Or else.

