Sweet Potato Hash with Poached Eggs

Sometimes, you just need to comfort yourself.  If it isn’t obvious by now, I seek my comfort in food. And alcohol. Which is why as I am typing this, I am having an Irish Coffee…. without coffee…. okay, it’s just a shot of Bailey’s. Sue me.

When I am in need of comfort, I get in these moods where feeling bad feels oh so good. Look! There’s the hotel your husband cheated on you in. Yeah, that hurts, doesn’t it? Yeah. Let’s buy some more shoes. Yeah. It’s almost like stroking the self-pity makes what happened real and I get a secret satisfaction from doing completely pathetic things, like watching Love Actually with my dogs on a Saturday night.

While wallowing in this weekend’s pity fest, I decided to make one of my favorite breakfasts. I used to play around in the kitchen every weekend and make my man something fun, and this one was a definite winner. I haven’t made myself breakfast since the annulment because it was something I always did with my ex and it brought back too many painful memories. This morning, I was feeling particularly masochistic. Breakfast for one. How sad. Better chase it with the Bailey’s. 

Anyway, here is the recipe for this delicious, nutritious, and ever-so-comforting hash. Who DOESN’T like some decadent egg yolk running all over potatoes of any kind?! Certainly no one I’d be friends with.

Sweet Potato Hash with Poached Eggs
Serves 2-3

  • 2 tsp olive oil
  • 1 large sweet potato, roasted at 400 degrees for 45 min, peeled, and cubed
  • 1/2 medium onion
  •  1/2 tsp dried sage
  • 1 clove garlic
  • 3 slices Canadian bacon
  • 1/3 c Chicken Broth
  • 2 eggs
  • 1Tbsp White Vinegar
  • Bailey’s (just kidding… but it never hurts to supplement your coffee with some)

Heat the olive oil in a large nonstick skillet over medium heat. Add the onion & dried sage, cook for 2-3 minutes. Add the garlic and cook for an additional minute or until fragrant. Add in the cubed sweet potato, Canadian bacon, and chicken broth. Turn heat to medium-low and simmer until the potatoes absorb the broth.

Meanwhile, bring a couple of inches of water and the vinegar  to a light, rolling simmer. Crack the eggs into small, heat-safe dishes. Stir the water, creating a tiny whirlpool in the center. Gently dip the eggs from the dish into to center of the whirlpool, one at a time. Wait 2-3 minutes or until the white is firm and the center is still soft. Remove the egg onto a paper towel and serve atop the hash.

Tagged , , , , , , , ,

2 thoughts on “Sweet Potato Hash with Poached Eggs

  1. Whitney says:

    Who needs boys when you have runny egg yolk!?!

  2. Who needs boys when you can have a woman who cooks like you do and appreciates your amazing sense of humor. We should talk if you ever decide to hop the fence! GREAT RECIPE – plan to try it this weekend!

I <3 Comments. Leave one. Or else.

