Hot Apple Pie Pancakes

Who doesn’t love a good apple pie? I must say, sticking it in a pancake is a perfectly good excuse to eat dessert for breakfast in a socially acceptable way. No shame. This morning was my third consecutive hangover and I certainly felt the need for a carb load, so I took my frazzled hair down to the grocery store and picked up the ingredients. The result?  Totally worth my untamed mane being seen in public.

After yesterday’s pity post, I had planned myself a busy schedule of watching movies with my dogs and sulking.  However, right before I headed home to change into sweats and make some quality cookie dough, I got a phone call. From a boy. I don’t remember the last time anyone actually called instead of texting.

I stared at my phone like it was a foreign object as it rang. I was eventually forced to answer by a friend who was tired of watching me read yesterday’s rejection texts on repeat. As it turns out, one of the boys that I met on New Year’s Eve wanted to grab drinks with me before he went back home to San Diego. Mind you, I was looking forward to painting my nails and watching “PS I Love You.” Again, my friend pushed me to stop feeling sorry for myself and get ready to go meet him. Stupid friends, never letting me drown in my own pity party.

To my surprise, this guy was everything a really great guy should be. He was funny, smart, older than me, successful, and a real gentleman. He bought my drinks, wrapped me in a bear hug when I complained that I was cold, and really listened when I talked to him. This morning, I even woke up to a text message telling me how much he enjoyed spending time with me last night.

I liked him, but I can’t say that I got butterflies. Regardless, it was really nice to be treated like a lady for once. I forgot what that felt like. I still didn’t have the warm-and-fuzzies this morning (I believe we can still thank Bachelor #2’s recent texts for that), but I wanted to choose to be in a better mood, so I made my own comfort. Comfort food, to be exact. And what better way to get the warm and fuzzies than making yourself apple pie in a pancake?

Recipe adapted from recipe.com (http://www.recipe.com/apple-pie-pancakes/)

Ingredients:
  • 1-1/2 cups  all-purpose flour
  • 2 Tbsp.  granulated sugar
  • 1 Tbsp.  baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp.  ground cinnamon
  • 1/4 tsp.  salt
  • 2  eggs, lightly beaten
  • 1 cup apple juice
  • 3 Tbsp. butter, melted, or cooking oil
  • 2 tsp. vanilla
  • 3/4 cup chopped fresh apple (extra for garnish)
  • Nonstick cooking spray
  • Pure maple syrup
Directions: 
In a medium bowl, stir together flour, sugar, baking powder, cinnamon, and salt. Make a well in the center of the flour mixture; set aside.
In a small bowl, combine eggs, apple juice, melted butter and vanilla.
Add egg mixture to flour mixture. Stir just mixed through.
Stir in apple.
Pour about 1/4 cup batter onto a hot, lightly greased griddle or heavy skillet, spreading batter to a 4-inch circle.
Cook over medium heat for 1 to 2 minutes on each side. You’ll know it’s time to flip when they look bubbly, like this on one side…
… and are a beautiful golden brown on the other.
Serve warm. You can top these babies with pretty much anything you’d like. Personally, I added more chopped apples and some maple syrup. The contrast of the mushy apples inside and crisp apples on top was divine. Another delicious option would be to serve a la mode or with a dollop of fresh whipped cream. Mmmmm.
There’s nothing like a good homemade meal to make you feel at ease, no matter where you are in life or love.
Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

6 thoughts on “Hot Apple Pie Pancakes

  1. Running in Mommyland says:

    They are so pretty! I’m going to have to attempt these!

    • they taste as good as they look! I think it’s the apple juice in the batter that makes them just melt in your mouth like apple pie filling. If you do make them, be sure to use one regular apple and one granny smith. It gives a nice, tart bite 🙂

  2. They look really yummy. I like them because once they’re cooked you can’t tell they have apple inside – a lovely surprise 😀

  3. singlenocats says:

    Looks amazing- I’m definitely going to try this!

  4. Verna says:

    I love this, but if I ate it, my tush would be 3 feet wide! My boyfriend wants me to get fat so others will not look at me, but I cannot afford a new wardrobe and I do not want a fat tush.

  5. […] you have a honey, make them these for breakfast. They are literally the best […]

I <3 Comments. Leave one. Or else.

