Kid-Friendly Valentine Snacks

When people asked me what I wanted to be when I grew up, I always had the same, immediate answer: “I WANNA BE A MOM!”

Though being a mom is (hopefully) not in the cards for me over the next few years, I am enamored by children. Yes, the inappropriate, sex-toy-blogging lady loves kids. Why is that so hard to believe?

To pump the brakes on my burning uterus, I volunteered myself for an amazing opportunity to teach kids how to cook with healthy, sustainable ingredients. I am conducting an activity station for any little guys who want to join me this weekend, where I will be helping them to make these delicious, nutritious snacks. If it was up to me, I’d add chocolate chips, too (but some of these moms be crazy and might hunt me down if I feel their children chocolate).

I feel like this is going to prepare me for motherhood. I am totally going to be the mom who sneaks nutrition into her children, and possibly dresses them as tiny gangsters on their first Halloween. They make gold chains in baby size, right?

Here is the recipe for these super simple, kid-friendly snacks that are perfect for V-day! (Serves 2-3 kids for a snack)

3 Tbsp nut butter (I used almond)
2 tsp honey (omit if making for very small children)
4 tsp nonfat dry milk
1/4 tsp ground cinnamon
4 tsp 100% apple juice
2 Tbsp dried cherries
5 tsp rolled oats
4 tsp wheat germ
4 tsp shredded coconut, dyed pink and red

Mix nut butter and honey (if using) thoroughly. Add dry milk and mix. Add cinnamon, apple juice, cherries, oats, and wheat germ and mix. Form into small balls with hands. Roll in coconut. Refrigerate & enjoy!

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

7 thoughts on “Kid-Friendly Valentine Snacks

  1. Jared says:

    You had me at 4tsp shredded coconut, dyed pink and red. Ugh. Love coconut.

  2. These are really cute! Awesome your doing an activity station and teaching kids how to cook…I’m not sure I’d have the patience although always the best of intentions.. 🙂

  3. These are really cute! Awesome you’re doing an activity station and teaching kids how to cook…I’m not sure I’d have the patience although always the best of intentions..:-)

I <3 Comments. Leave one. Or else.

