Cheesy Garlic Bread with A Fried Egg

Garlic and egg?

Yes, garlic and egg.

You think I am crazy. Let’s not get ugly here, people – I much prefer the term “dangerous.” My palate and I live on the edge. Plus we had very few ingredients in the cupboard to work with last night.

But remember – the only thing crazier than my ideas is the deliciousness they create.

Begin with cheese. This is the secret to every great savory dish. Always begin with cheese.

Toast yourself some bread, preferably Whole Foods “seeduction bread.” So witty, those Whole Foods folk.

If you are feeling decadent, toast it in a pan with butter. As I nearly vomited during my spin class last night, I felt a little butter was necessary. Don’t want to go getting too thin, now. Then no one will believe that I can cook unless I change my name to Giada (bitch).

Once the bread is toasted, rub it with a clove of garlic. But don’t use the whole thing unless you are trying to ward off the Cullen clan, which I would never want to do.

Garlic bread, meet cheese.

Heat the broiler, and stick these little friends in for 3-4 minutes, until bubbly and browning.

Oh, lordy. What could possibly make this better?

Yep, that’ll work.

Stare at the cheesy bread for a while and admire its beauty. When you have sufficiently gawked, top with the fried egg.

Even though you’re bursting with joy and rainbows right now, try not to cry. It’s embarrassing for everyone.

Okay, now you can cry. It’s just too beautiful to hold back the tears.


Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

24 thoughts on “Cheesy Garlic Bread with A Fried Egg

  1. omg omg omg i used to be UH-BSESSED with the seeduction bread from WF!!!

  2. Gillian Colbert says:

    That looks absolutely scrumptious. Thanks for sharing *runs off to check the cupboards*

  3. Miss Tasty says:

    Wow, that looks so darn good!!!! I’m gonna eat that for breakfast, lunch & dinner!

  4. ratiomale says:

    Dearest RFTL,

    As you know, this does not jive with my delicate figure and I have little to no self control. Can we get some healthybutstilldelicious alternatives?

    kthanks,
    H

    • Challenge accepted.

      1. This bread has so much fiber! It is quite healthy already.
      2. My grandmother always told me that eggs are “God’s perfect food.” There is nothing wrong with them as long as you don’t have more than two yolks in one meal. Boom.
      3. Toast the bread without butter use less cheese

      Presto. Healthy.

  5. Deeeelish…simple, garlicky, cheesy, with carbs and not skipping out on the vitamin-rich yolk! I will definitely have these as one of my late night snacks!

  6. Oh yum – what a great breakfast. This would be an incredible start to the day :D. Nice and cheesy.

  7. The Mouse says:

    Just think, you would not have come up with this without a challenging pantry. Good job. 🙂

  8. Christina says:

    Oh yeah! This looks like a great way to start the day! 🙂

  9. Christiana says:

    Soooo…. when are you having me over for breakfast?

  10. KateSquared says:

    That sounds amazing. I’m kind of jealous right now.

I <3 Comments. Leave one. Or else.

