Things That Take Priority Over Work

On this first workday of daylight savings, I have found it rather difficult to concentrate.

Today was my first day in a new cube, so I spent most of the morning moving my tiny green Buddha around the desk and pretending to unpack all of my other worldly trinkets.  This took certain priority over my email queue, as I don’t want to know what would happen if mini Buddha didn’t enjoy his new view.

Before actually working, I needed to complete a few other critical tasks, such as:

  • Staring at the fog.
  • Watering my dead plants.
  • Creating fake email addresses and subscribing them to my blog.
    Just kidding.
    But only kind of.
  • Checking my Grandfather’s Facebook page to see if he has any new friends.
  • Combing Henry’s hair.
  • Plugging in the tiny anime-looking figurine on my desk (it’s just not as exciting when he doesn’t light up).
  • Watching Bon Qui Qui for the hundred millionth time.
  • Plotting RFTL world domination.
  • Writing this post.

Obviously, this list is too short. Please help to boost my productivity and contribute some worthy ideas.

Best one wins a picture of food that I made and probably ate by myself. Because that’s really the only thing I have to contribute to society.

Tagged , , , , , , , , , ,

13 thoughts on “Things That Take Priority Over Work

  1. Lauren says:

    “watering my dead plants”

    hahaha this is my favorite.

  2. bleak2011 says:

    I find staring out the window and then returning to it a minute later just to see if something has changed works. Failing that one, there’s always Pinterest but even that does borderline actually being productive. I too crave procrastination….. maybe there’s a club for obsessive procrastinators? I do hope there’s wine and cake…..nice blog 🙂

    • I have not yet gotten too into pinterest. Perhaps I should start!

      • bleak2011 says:

        Its a must…..great thing is I show the dogs what I’ve just pinned so doubling the procrastination and multi tasking at the same time! lol Joking asdie it is actually proving quite useful, can put all my thoughts and ideas into a visual stimulus and then use that to inform my practice.

  3. Baker Bettie says:

    Ha! I am lucky that I have a job where it is literally impossible for me to procrastinate because I am really good at it.

    But my biggest procrastination technique for doing housework is:
    Refreshing my site stats every 15 seconds to see how many new people have looked at my blog.. Ha!

  4. Thank you for reminding me I hadn’t spent my normal work time on Loldogs and FailBlog. Unfortunately, I run my own business so who gets the last laugh there?

  5. themoonandme says:

    You could also spend time writing a long list of excuses for the time the boss comes along and asks why you’re not doing anything. personally, this is how I alleviate my own boredom when procrastination starts to wear thin.

  6. brains says:

    i’m thinking about procrastinating. maybe tomorrow.

I <3 Comments. Leave one. Or else.

