Cream Cheese & Jalapeno Thumbprint Cookies

For the thousandth time, you think I am crazy.

And for the thousandth time, I say to you: “Yes. I though we went over this already?”

Submitted for the approval of the midnight snack society, I present to you the product of last night’s impulse purchases at Whole Foods: peanut butter thumbprint cookies with cream cheese and jalapeno jelly.  These cookies join the ranks of Rosemary Lemon Cookies with Olive Oil Glaze, Chocolate Dipped Potato Chips, and Strawberry Ricotta Cheesecake with Balsamic Drizzle in my slightly deranged collection of not-so-sweets.

There is method to my madness, people. Let’s take a moment for some arithmetic:

Peanuts + Spicy = Delicious. Think Pad Thai.
Cream Cheese + Spicy = Delicious. Have you ever eaten one of those cheese blocks smothered in jalapeno jelly? You should.
Peanut Butter + Cream Cheese = Delicious. Was this ever in question?

So, if A+B, B+C, and A+C all equal delicious…. we must be on to something exponentially better.

Eat your heart out, Giada. I’m coming for you and your perfect hair and your beach house, too.

I wish I could find a way to make these cookies prettier, but jalapeno jelly wasn’t really made for food styling. They are kind of like the ugly duckling children that you almost love more because you feel sorry for them.

In a related story – God, I hope my kids are pretty.

Here is my version of the recipe, using a modified version of Sunny Anderson’s thumbprint cookie as the base:

Ingredients

  • 1 stick unsalted butter (1/2 cup), room temperature
  • 1/2 cup peanut butter
  • 1/2 cup light brown sugar
  • 1/2 cup granulated sugar
  • 1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 1 egg, beaten
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 2 cups all-purpose flour
  • Sugar for rolling (optional)
  • 1 package cream cheese
  • 1 jar jalapeno jelly

Directions

Heat the oven to 350 degrees F.

In a stand mixer with the paddle attachment, add the butter, peanut butter, brown sugar, and granulated sugar and blend all ingredients on medium-high until creamy. Turn off the mixer and use a rubber spatula to scrape the sides of the bowl, pushing everything back towards the center. Then add the vanilla, egg, and salt and blend until combined. Lower the speed of the mixer and add the flour in 1/2 cup intervals. Between each addition be sure to completely blend in all the flour and scrape the sides again as before.

Using a tablespoon, scoop out the dough and roll into a ball between your hands. Then roll the formed ball in the sugar (if using) and place on a parchment-lined baking sheet. Repeat for the rest of the balls, making sure to separate them on the sheet by about 1-inch.

Once all the balls are on the baking sheet, make an indentation in the center of each using the rounded end of a wooden spoon, the back of a rounded teaspoon, or your good old fashioned thumb. Bake for about 9 minutes and remove to a wire rack.

Fill each with 1/4 tsp cream cheese and 1/4 tsp jelly.

Eat in large quantities before and after dinner. Or at work. Or in your car. Or while reading my blog. This is a judgment-free zone, people.

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

28 thoughts on “Cream Cheese & Jalapeno Thumbprint Cookies

  1. Wow, you are creative! And I have no doubt you’ll someday have a beach house to rival Giada’s 🙂

  2. chefconnie says:

    Yes you are crazy. In the best possible way!

  3. trialsinfood says:

    i like your logic! looks yummy!

  4. I am drooling at my desk right now … cute, I know! These little gems need to happen immediately!

  5. princess christie says:

    what a creative genius!!!!

  6. I think they sound delicious and the pepper jelly gives them a kind of retro cool 70’s dessert look. Good job! 🙂

    • thanks! it does make me feel better that you call them “retro” instead of “odd looking” hahahaha

      I will have to make up for it next time and make something pretty. I am thinking maybe a pink ombre cake. To celebrate…. pink.

  7. This could be genius or madness, but I’ll give it ago over the weekend.

  8. Baker Bettie says:

    GOD I LOVE SPICY AND SWEET! One of my favorite combos and I agree with “glutenfreezen” they look really retro!

    In other news, YOU DON’T SHOW UP IN MY BLOG FEED ANYMORE!

  9. How creative! They remind me of “Jalepeno poppers” but with sweetness to battle the spicy-ness 🙂

  10. Andi says:

    Oh my. This, I believe, will beat out the peanut butter and jalapeño and fruit jam sandwiches that I adore so much.

    ❤ I think I will have to try these soon… now to find a partner in cookie and a jar of peanut butter.

  11. ConnieMaria says:

    You’ve piqued my interest…and my appetite!!! And you crack me up!! Lol Nice job on the cookies! 🙂

  12. Lauren says:

    gimme more.

I <3 Comments. Leave one. Or else.

